5th December: Angela Hewitt, Björn Gottstein, Ivors Composer Awards and Best Classical Music of 2019

Thursday 5th December 2019

Angela Hewitt to receive Wigmore Medal

Pianist Angela Hewitt is to be awarded the Wigmore Medal on 2 June 2020 in recognition of her international standing and contribution to the Hall over the past 35 years. Inaugurated in 2007, the Wigmore Medal recognises significant figures in the classical music world who have a strong relationship with the Hall. Past recipients include Iestyn Davies, Steven Isserlis, Sir András Schiff, Thomas Quasthoff, Christian Gerhaher, Menahem Pressler, The Takács String Quartet and Dame Felicity Lott. Since her debut in 1985, Hewitt has given over 80 performances at the Hall and will receive the medal following the final concert of her Bach Odyssey: a four-season survey of the composer’s complete keyboard works across 12 concerts, which began in 2016.

Read more…

Angela Hewitt London 2016

Björn Gottstein wird neuer Sekretär des Kuratoriums neuer Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung

Die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung hat verkündet, dass zum 1. Januar 2022 Björn Gottstein neuer Sekretär des Kuratoriums wird und damit Michael Roßnagl in dieser Funktion ablöst. Als langjärhiger Redakteur für Neue Musik beim SWR in Stuttgart und seit 2015 als Leiter der Donaueschinger Musiktage prägt Gottstein bereits jetzt das zeitgenössische Musikleben. „[…] Meine Aufgabe wird es sein, den erfolgreichen Kurs der Stiftung fortzusetzen. Gleichzeitig wird es darum gehen, die Tätigkeit der Stiftung auch mit Blick auf Veränderungen im Musikleben auszurichten und so diese wertvolle Arbeit auch für kommende Jahre zu ermöglichen“, kommentiert Gottstein seine Ernennung. Die Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung wurde 1972 gegründet. Neben dem jährlich verliehenen Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis vergibt die Stiftung Förderpreise an junge Komponisten und Musiker und unterstützt Ensembles, Festivals, zeitgenössische Musik-Projekte und Institutionen des zeitgenössischen Musiklebens. 

Mehr Lesen…

Björn Gottstein announced as new chief secretary for Ernst Siemens Musikstiftung 

The Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung announced Björn Gottstein as the new chief secretary of the advisory board. He will start his position in January 2022 and succeed Michael Roßnagl in this role. Gottstein is journalist for contemporary music for SWR in Stuttgart and is the director of Donaueschinger Musiktage since 2015. “[…] My duty will be to continue the successful course of the foundation. At the same time it will be important to adapt the activities of the Musikstiftung in regards to the changes in the musical landscape and enable the foundation to continue the valuable work for the future”.Ernst von Siemens Musikstiftung was founded in 1972. Apart from awarding the yearly Ernst von Siemens Musikpreis, the foundation also honours young composers and musicians with funding prizes and provides financial support to ensembles, festivals, institutions and projects in contemporary music. 

Read more…

Winners announced for the Ivors Composer Awards 2019

The ceremony took place last night (Wednesday) at the British Museum in London and were presented by BBC Radio 3’s Kate Molleson and Tom Service. This year 91 percent of those who received awards are first time winners and the majority (54 percent) were presented to female composers. The awards recognised a diverse range of work from a Trombone Concerto inspired by a recently-discovered illuminated manuscript to a chamber opera telling the story of the African freedom fighter Harriet Tubman. The winners of the 2019 Ivors Composer Awards are:

  • Amateur or Young Performers – The Salamander and The Moonraker by Edward Gregson
  • Chamber Ensemble – Flute Concerto by Dai Fujikura CHORAL Pocket Universe by Geoff Hannan
  • Community or Educational Project – Convo by Charlotte Harding
  • Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble – Jumping In by Laura Jurd
  • Jazz Composition for Jazz Ensemble – There is a Crack in Everything by Alison Rayner
  • Orchestral – The Book of Miracles (Trombone Concerto) by Gavin Higgins
  • Small Chamber – Leafleoht by James Weeks
  • Solo or Duo – Invisible Cities by Charlotte Bray
  • Sound Art – Aeons: A Sound Walk for Newcastle by Martin Green
  • Stage Works – Harriet (‘Scenes in the life of Harriet Tubman’) by Hilda Paredes
  • Innovation – Anna Meredith MBE
  • Lifetime Achievement – Erika Fox

Read more…

The New York Times: Best Classical Music of 2019

Our critics list the best performances, premieres and digital releases of the year from the world of classical music and opera.

Find out more here….