Emoción releases poignant new single ahead of their reflective summer album

Tuesday 18th May 2021

The five-piece international ensemble have just released the emotive, powerful single ‘Lullaby’. This comes ahead of their new album, ‘Open Your Eyes’, out in July.

An ensemble known for weaving jazz, classical, tango, and chanson, Emoción unites outstanding musicians and five different nationalities. Its members include Joris Laenen (Belgian composer, pianist, trumpet player & arranger), Christoph Schmitz (Venezuelan cellist), Patrizia Portz (German-Peruvian violinist) and Ferdinand Schaefer (German percussionist) – all of who are members of the Qatar Philharmonic Orchestra.

The single “Lullaby” documents the intense pain and emotion that Joris Laenen underwent upon losing an unborn child. This telling, personal track can be listened to here:

The new album “Open Your Eyes” is an emotional, musical journey comprised of 12 pieces and includes both the ensemble’s own compositions as well as new interpretations. As the album title suggests, the group sees Open Your Eyes as an invitation to delve deeper emotionally, and connect with those around us by seeing things from different perspectives.

The second single and feature track ‘Open Your Eyes’ is to be released on 6 July along with the entire album.

The group’s love for cross-genre music brought them together with the French Lebanese jazz singer Sevine Abi Aad, with whom the Ensemble Emoción was founded in 2008.

WildKat PR is delighted to be working on an international PR campaign for the promotion of the album.