5th June: LPO to offer points-based loyalty scheme, Nicola Benedetti becomes NYO ambassador, and Julliard archive recordings now available

Wednesday 5th June 2019

LPO becomes first UK orchestra to offer points-based loyalty scheme

The London Philharmonic Orchestra has created a new online-only loyalty scheme to reward concert-goers who want to attend several concerts a year, but only book tickets for one concert at a time.

Kath Trout, marketing director at the London Philharmonic Orchestra, comments on this: ‘We have noticed a change in booking trends in recent years, with audiences booking tickets much closer to the time of events and, for a variety of reasons, unable to benefit from a traditional ‘series discount’ model. With LPO Plus, which has been designed to be simple to use and to understand, we hope to offer rewards to a much wider audience, encouraging loyalty in a more flexible and relevant way.’

The scheme is completely free to join and open to all, with members receiving an initial 100 points when they first sign up and occasional one-off bonus points promotions.

For further information, read more here…

Violinist Nicola Benedetti to become NYO ambassador

The award-winning Scottish violinist will work with the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain to support young people’s music-making in the UK.

The star violinist joins a stellar line-up of ambassadors for the National Youth Orchestra of Great Britain, including trumpeter Alison Balsom, conductor Sir Mark Elder and soprano Danielle de Niese.

Already a leading advocate for music education, Nicola described her collaboration with NYO as a “natural fit”.

For more information, read more here…

Juilliard archive recordings now available online

Historical recordings made at New York’s Juilliard School in the 1950s have recently been digitised and are now available through Juilliard’s online media archive.

The recordings include a number of notable piano performances such as the 18-year old Van Cliburn playing Tchaikovsky’s Piano Concerto No 1 in B-flat minor (1953), the world première of Aaron Copland’s Piano Fantasy performed by William Masselos (1957), and Roger Sessions’ Concerto for Piano and Orchestra with pianist Beveridge Webster (1956).

Juilliard received a Grammy Museum grant of $15,000 to fund the preservation and digitisation project. George Blood Audio in Philadelphia undertook the preservation work, and Juilliard’s digital media librarian Eric Mortenson led the website development, metadata schema and project management.

For further information and the recordings, read more here…